Lucy

September 30, 2010

Dec. 2001 - Sept. 2010

Dec. 2001 – Sept. 2010

Lucy was my very first Bernese Mt. Dog client. She came on board with me as a pup in 2002 and we’ve been sharing our afternoons together for the last 9 years. Lucy lost her battle with acute Lymphocytic Leukemia this week.

One of my fondest memories of this special girl was each day as I opened her back door she would come barreling out with a big plushy toy crammed in her mouth as she’d run into the yard. On some days she’d run out without one but no sooner would she get outside and you could almost see the light bulb go off in her head (oops, forgot something) as she’d whack the screen door aside with her big Berner paw, snag the first plushy she laid eyes on (and there were always many to choose from) and back out she’d run, mission accomplished. She’d then proceed to head up to the upper level yard where she’d stand proud, mouthful of plushy and tail slammin’ back and forth. This was her daily routine. The best part though was when I’d ask her for a smooch and she’d drop her plushy and lay one on me, smack on the lips, her aim was always spot on.

This photo was one of my favorites I’ve taken of her over the years with her bro Noodles under her favorite walnut tree. Lucy will be terribly missed by her mom & dad, her brother Noodles and one very broken-hearted dog walker.

Rest in peace sweet girl. Your infectious smile will be embedded in my heart forever.

Comments are closed.